Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
gooods
9 avril 2010

strong and healthy

SHREWSBURY - Most people who have multiple sclerosis aren't belly-dancers. But then again, Anna Connors isn't most people.

It is for that reason that she is one of 30 finalists competing to become part of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society's inspirational video series "We Keep Moving."

Mrs. Connors, who was first diagnosed with primary progressive multiple sclerosis three years ago, is one of three people seeking online votes as the most inspirational person of the week.

"I first noticed something in a step aerobics class, when I found it hard to get up on tiffany accessories step," she said. "My orthopedist referred me to a neurologist, and after a year of tests, they told me they thought it was MS. My first thought was 'Thank you. Now let's move on.'"

Her symptoms include weakness in her right leg, which makes walking long distances difficult. "And I used to run marathons," she said.

Two rounds of intravenous steroids did nothing tiffany keys improve her condition. Neither did three chemotherapy treatments. "It made me feel worse, not better."

So with no known treatment for this debilitating disease, Mrs. Connors turned to diet, exercise and vitamins.

"I do hydrobics at the Y four days, and when I was talking about it in a thrift store, this woman, Gypsy Phillips, invited me to try belly dancing. So I did, and I love it."

Mrs. Connors belly dances once a week at the Shrewsbury Senior Center, where she and the rest of the Silver Moon Dance Troupe are getting ready for Shrewsbury's talent show Sunday.

"I choose to think about the things I can do and not the things I can't do," she said. "I can still do so much. Most people when they meet me don't realize I have MS."

Even though she has MS, Mrs. Connors refuses to let go of her household responsibilities. "I manage my days so I can still clean my house by myself - I don't want anybody else doing it."

Mrs. Connors said her husband, Dan, and her daughter, Victoria, are her tiffany.

"I take care of my family and home with all my heart, but always try to take care of myself because I know I can better take care of them by keeping myself strong and healthy," she said.

A brief synopsis of each story can be found at www.wekeepmoving.org. Voting for Anna and her competitors began on Friday and continues through noon on Thursday.

"If I win, then they'll send a crew out to my house and they'll film my story, and I'll get to go to New York for National Multiple Sclerosis Day on May 26."

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité